CVARC welcomes new Hams, old Hams, and non-Hams who are interested in learning about radio communications and sharing the friendship and camaraderie of the local Ham community.

The Conejo Valley Amateur Radio Club is a not-for-profit international organization of amateur radio enthusiasts. We provide education forums, publications and peer interaction opportunities that enhance the knowledge, skill and professional growth of our members.

President’s Message

Happy New Year, CVARC members!

It’s 2018 and our club, I am told, is now in its 45th year. Wow! That’s impressive. As the Club’s newsletter editor for the last year, I sometimes found myself looking back at the older newsletters on the Club’s website. The oldest of these newsletters are from late-2000, more than 17 years ago. As I read through them I noticed something: So many familiar names! How amazing is it that we have members who have been with the Club for nearly 2 decades? Perhaps some members have been around even longer! More importantly, these are members who are still actively involved in the Club, not just names on a roster. I think that’s a big part of the Club’s continued success and growth. Members get involved. They take on responsibilities. But they also stay to teach, mentor and help newer hams. I thought this was worth acknowledging. Thank you to all the members who, over the years, have worked to keep CVARC going, and who have helped to grow it to what it is today.

I have enjoyed serving as the newsletter editor for the past year, and I am happy to continue in that role through 2018. I am honored to have been elected CVARC President, although the whole thing is a little surreal. Honestly. I mean, it doesn’t seem like it was that long ago that I walked into the East County Sheriff’s Station to test for my Technician Class license. In fact, it wasn’t.

I became interested in ham radio after talking with a friend who was a volunteer with the Ventura County Search and Rescue. I told him that I was finally getting serious about earthquake/disaster preparedness, and that I was putting together kits for our two cars and one for the house. We talked about food, water, first aid kits, etc. I did a lot of research and put a lot of thought into putting together those kits. Then he asked me what I planned to do about communications. I really didn’t know what he meant. He explained that, in some situations, cell phones likely wouldn’t work. I hadn’t thought about it. He suggested that I get a ham radio license, purchase a radio, and join the local ham radio club. I did just as he suggested. That was in the summer of 2015, not even 3 years ago.

Sure, I’ve done a few things since then. I obtained my General Class license; then my Extra. I was issued an ACS number. I got my VE Accreditation. I even learned CW, although I’m still reaaaaally slow. Yet, despite all this, I still feel like one of the newbies. So I was a little surprised when I was asked to consider running for Club President. I thought about some of our Club members, and their decades of experience as hams, and their technical expertise, and their much longer tenures as CVARC members. I thought “surely there must be someone more qualified, more deserving.” The thought of serving as Club President seemed a little overwhelming, but I was reminded that those same Club members, who have supported the Club for so long, would now be there to help me. I know I’m not doing this alone.

So here’s to 2018! May we be blessed with a year filled with good band conditions, good fun and good friends.