President’s Message

2018 is winding down.  And you know what that means… it’s time to start thinking about the 2019 Board of Directors!

We’re a large club, and we have a lot of activities and events.  So, naturally, we need people to plan these activities and events, and handle the routine matters that are part of running a club.  We’ve had the good fortune of having some very involved club members recently, many of whom have served in different roles for more than a few years.  As we move into 2019, some Board members have said they’d be willing to stay on for another year – perhaps in a different position than their current one – while others would prefer to bow out and pass the torch to someone new.  We expect we’ll need someone to fill the Vice President position, as well as the Education and Public Relations positions, and we’ll also have one Member at Large position available.

The 2019 Board of Directors will be elected at the November club meeting.  If you’re interested in serving on the Board, in any position, please send me an email stating the position you’d like to run for, and you’ll be included on the ballot.

You needn’t be a long-time club member to be on the Board.  It’s also not about how long you’ve been licensed, or whether you hold an Extra Class or Technician Class license.  If you have a few hours each month, and a desire to get involved in the club leadership, that’s all that’s required.  If you have questions about any of the Board positions, please feel free to contact me or any Board member.

Another end-of-year tradition is selecting the winner of the Hugh Bosma Legacy Award.  This will be the 4th year we’ve awarded the Hugh Bosma Legacy Award.  The award is named in honor of long time CVARC member Hugh Bosma – a silent key.  Hugh was known for his unselfish contributions to the club and the amateur radio community.  Hugh was an Elmer – a mentor — to many active club members today.  Each year we honor a CVARC member for their contributions to the club during the year and their support and promotion of the amateur radio hobby, in the spirit of Hugh Bosma.  The first recipient was Adrian Jarrett, followed by Zak Cohen and last year Ben Kuo.  The CVARC Board of Directors takes nominations of worthy recipients from all club members.  If you’d like to nominate someone, please email me by November 1.  The award winner will be selected at the November board meeting and will be announced at the holiday party on December 13.  I hope to see you there!


Stu Forman-KK6VYS AD6SF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *