Upcoming Programs

Thursday, February 16, 2023 – DXpedition: Paul Ewing-N6PSE is the founder of the Intrepid DX Group and has organized and participated in eight DXpeditions to very rare DX and exotic locations around the world, including Northern Iraq, South Sudan, and Yemen. Paul will discuss his visit to North Korea and how he got and lost permission for a DXpedition.

Thursday, March 16, 2023 – Designing and Assembling Amateur Satellites.

Thursday, April 20, 2023 – Evolution of CW

Thursday, May 18, 2023- Field Day 2023: CVARC Field Day Chair Keith Elliott-W6KME outlines the plans for the club’s Field Day.

Thursday, June 15, 2023 – Turning Random Metal Objects into Antennas

Thursday, July 20, 2023 – Go Kits Return: The newest approaches to mobile operation – go-kits -will be set up and displayed and the advantages of each will be discussed.

Thursday, August 17, 2023 – Mesh Networks

Thursday, September 21, 2023 – – The Early Days of Amateur Radio: Ken Larson- KJ6RZ talks about an exciting time in radio from Heinrich Hertz first experiments with radio waves in 1888 through Appleton’s discovery of the ionosphere in the late 1920s. This period includes Marconi’s first trans-Atlantic communications, spark gap “wireless” communications, the invention of the of the vacuum tube, and the discovery of skip distance.

Thursday, October 19, 2023 – What Makes a Repeater Tick

Thursday, November 16, 2023 – Gadgets For Your Shack, Radio Gifts for Yourself

Thursday, December 21, 2023 – CVARC Holiday Party

The Speakers Committee (Ed Zimmerman-N6XEWDaphne Vandervalk-KN6TXX, Brad Ormsby-W6VO, David Arata-KA9WMI, Keith Elliott-W6KME and Andy Ludlum-K6AGL) is always interested in your program ideas.  If you have thoughts on who might be a good speaker for a club meeting, please let any of us know. Sometimes it becomes necessary to reschedule a speaker or topic.  We appreciate your understanding.